clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2009 BN Pac-10 Awards: Offensive Player of the Year

The 2009 Pac-10 regular season has come to a close and as we all know, between the end of the regular season and beginning of the bowl season is the all-important awards season. So in that spirit, I present to you, the 2009 BruinsNation Pac-10 Awards. Throughout this week, we will present to you our Pac-10 awards, as voted on by the frontpagers and a select few members of the community, totaling ten votes. This is the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year, with the Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year and Game of the Year to follow later this week. First place votes were worth five points, second place votes worth three and third place votes worth one.

Winner: Toby Gerhart, Stanford- Unsurprisingly, the 2009 BruinsNation Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year goes to Toby Gerhart, the 6'1''. 235 lbs. running back who finished a close second for the Heisman Trophy. Gerhart not only led the conference in rushing yards and rushing touchdowns, but he finished second in the country with 145 rushing yards a game and his 26 touchdowns was tops in the country. He even threw for a touchdown versus Notre Dame.

Following his 38 carry, 223 yard, 3 touchdown performance in the Cardinal's upset of then #8 Oregon led to this quote from his fullback Owen Marecic.

"As usual he was just unbelievable. It's great blocking for him. I have to get a hat on somebody and he'll do the rest. His performance speaks for itself. He carried the team today. He was just awesome."

That game was the first of a four game stretch to finish the season in which he ran for 223 yards, 178 yards, 136 yards and 205 yards to go with 13 touchdowns in those games.

As amazing as those numbers is what Gerhart did academically. While starring football and keeping up with the Stanford baseball team, where he starts in left field, Gerhart also carried 21 units at one of the nation's premier academic institutions, fully embracing the title, student-athlete. A worthy Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year recepient indeed.

Total Votes: 1) Toby Gerhart, Stanford (10-0-0=50) 2) Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon St. (0-5-2=17), 3) Sean Canfield, Oregon St. (0-2-3=), 4) Jeremiah Masoli, Oregon (0-2-2=8), 5) LaMichael James, Oregon (0-2-1=5), 6) James Rodgers, Oregon St. (0-0-1=1)