clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UCLA vs. Arizona St., Bruins Go For Pac-10 Title Open Thread

UCLA will look to make it an outright Pac-10 title today (Photo Credit: Official Site)
UCLA will look to make it an outright Pac-10 title today (Photo Credit: Official Site)

It's the last day of the season and UCLA can wrap up an outright Pac-10 title. With at least a share of the title clinched, the Bruins can become outright champions with a win over Arizona St. today or an Oregon win over Oregon St. To have the conference championship in your hands on the last day of the season isn't such a bad place to be.

The Bruins and Sun Devils get underway at 12:30 pm PDT and the Beavers and Ducks start at 1 pm PDT. Of course, that is why the NCAA will announce the 16 Regional hosts at 12:30 pm PDT. You know, before the season ends. Here's a piece I wrote about how idiotic it is for the NCAA to announce the host sites before the season ends and its effect on the third West Coast host spot, which UCLA is a contender for. Keep an eye here for an update on the hosts announcement and head over to my baseball twitter for more info.

With the Pac-10 title on the line, UCLA will turn to a freshman, but he's no ordinary freshman. Adam Plutko is 6-3 with a 1.70 ERA this season and has surrendered just 13 extra-base hits in 95.1 innings. He's also coming on strongest at the end of the year with his best stretch of the season coming in the last month. The Sun Devils are likely to turn to Kyle Ottoson who is 3-1 with a 3.47 ERA.

John Ramey is still in the desert and will be calling today's game online. Of course, GameTracker will has the games and as is always the case, my UCLA baseball twitter has all the game updates, news, notes, links and thoughts, but there's an added option as well. Fox Sports West has a free stream of the game for those who want to watch. This is your baseball open thread so listen, watch or follow along and share any updates, thoughts and questions here and the Bruins look to wrap up an outright Pac-10 title.