clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UCLA Football’s Rosen & Vanderdoes Earn Preseason Honors

The first two preseason watch lists were announced this morning and each one has a UCLA Bruin on it.

NCAA Football: UCLA at Arizona State Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Today, the Maxwell Football Club announced its preseason watch lists for the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award.

UCLA has one player on each watch list. Sophomore QB Josh Rosen was named to the Maxwell Award watch list while defensive lineman Eddie Vanderdoes was named to the Bednarik Award watch list.

The Maxwell Award is named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell and has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including time as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

Over the next two weeks, seventeen different award watch lists will be announced. Today’s announcements are the first of those watch lists.

Go Bruins!!!