clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NWSL will open their 2020 season with 17 former Bruins on roster

The National Women’s Soccer League will be dominated by former Bruins

NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship Photo by Jamie Schwaberow/NCAA Photos via Getty Images

The UCLA Bruins women’s soccer team will be widely represented when the NWSL opens their 2020 season on June 27. In fact, 17 former Bruins will be on a league roster when the schedule opens up at the end of the month, headlined by a couple of groundbreaking players, World Cup winners and Olympic Gold Medalists.

Those 17 players from UCLA on a NWSL roster on opening weekend are:

Lauren Barnes
Abby Dahlkemper
Caprice Dydasco
Zoey Goralski
Darian Jenkins
Sydney Leroux
Hailie Mace
Kaiya McCullough
Sam Mewis
Megan Oyster
Mallory Pugh
Katelyn Rowland
Ashley Sanchez
Taylor Smith
Rosie White
Sarah Woldmoe
McCall Zerboni

Dahlkemper, Mace and Rowland play for the North Carolina Courage who open the season as the defending league champions and play the Portland Thorns FC. They meet on Saturday, June 27 at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Leroux headlines the Orlando Pride roster who take on the Chicago Red Stars roster that features Goralski. They play in the second match of the day on Saturday, June 27, at 10:00 p.m. ET.

McCullough and Sanchez play for the Washington Spirit who take on the essential home team in the Utah Royals FC. They open Tuesday, June 30th play at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Barnes, Jenkins, Smith and White each play for the OL Reign while Dydasco, Pugh, Woldmoe and Zerboni play for the Sky Blue FC. This will be the most represented contest of former Bruins when they play on Tuesday, June 30 at 10:00 p.m. ET.

Our first look at Oyster this season comes when her Houston Dash take on the NC Courage on Wednesday, July 1 at 10:00 p.m. ET.

The full schedule of games can be found here.

The teams will the continually alternate matchups in a 25-game tournament consisting of all nine NWSL teams and will culminate with the Championship on July 26 at 12:30 p.m. MT. Both the Championship match and the opening match between the NC Courage and Portland Thorns will be broadcast on CBS.