clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UCLA DB Quentin Lake named to Lott Trophy Watch List

Lake was selected despite playing in just four games in 2019

UCLA v Cincinnati Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

The 2020 college football is really real all of a sudden. The nation’s top preseason watch lists are slowly trickling out and your UCLA Bruins are garnering national attention.

One of those players was Quentin Lake, who recently was named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List. Given annually to the top defensive player with the top ‘Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Teaching’ both on and off the field, the Lott Trophy is named after College Football, NFL Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott.

Lake was named to the list with 41 others but perhaps the most untapped potential of them all. After playing in just four games a season ago, Lake’s selection isn’t at all surprising for those who know who he is on and off the field.

He recorded a season-high six stops against Cincinnati a season ago, after starting all 12 games at safety in 2018.

Lake is hoping to continue in the footsteps of Anthony Barr and Eric Kendricks, who won the Lott IMPACT Trophy in 2013 and 2014, respectively.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy has raised more than $1.6M for scholarships and is the only major college football award where character of the nominees are considered.

The list of players on the full watch list are:

Paulson Adebo, Stanford, CB
Carlos Basham Jr., Wake Forest, DL
Terrel Bernard, Baylor, LB
Dicaprio Bootle, Nebraska, CB-S
K.J. Britt, Auburn, LB
Andre Cisco, Syracuse, S
Kuony Deng, Cal, LB
Victor Dimukeje, Duke, DE
Paddy Fisher, Northwestern, LB
Justin Foster, Clemson, DE
Chauncey Golston, Iowa, DE-DT
Richie Grant, UCF, DB
Talanoa Hufanga, USC, S
Patrick Jones II, Pitt, DL
Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State, DB
George Karlaftis, Purdue, DE
Caleb Kelly, Oklahoma, LB
Quentin Lake, UCLA, DB
Nate Landman, Colorado, LB
Richard Lecounte, Georgia, S
Demonte Meeks, Air Force, LB
Dimitri Moore, Vanderbilt, LB
Dylan Moses, Alabama, LB
Israel Mukuamu, South Carolina, CB
Amen Ogbongbemiga, Oklahoma State, LB
Levi Onwuzurike, Washington, DE
Joseph Ossai, Texas, LB
Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame, Rover
Micah Parsons, Penn State, LB
Kwity Paye, Michigan, DE
Hamilcar Rashed Jr., LB, Oregon State
Gregory Rousseau, Miami, DE
Jack Sanborn, Wisconsin, LB
Antjuan Simmons, Michigan State, LB
Jacoby Stevens, LSU, S
Darius Stills, West Virginia, DE
Derek Stingley Jr., LSU, CB
Tre Swilling, Georgia Tech, DB
Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon, LB
Shaun Wade, Ohio State, CB
Garret Wallow, TCU, LB-S
Marvin Wilson, Florida State, DL

UCLA is the only school with two different Lott winners.