clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UCLA's Perkins & Jack Named to Walter Camp Award Watch List

The final preseason watch list is announced and two Bruins are on it.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

UCLA's Paul Perkins and Myles Jack were both named to the Walter Camp Award Watch List today. The Walter Camp Award Watch List is the final preseason watch list to be announced.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 128 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 10. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 16, 2016 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Congratulations to Paul and Myles!

Go Bruins!!!