clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UCLA Football: Josh Rosen Named to Walter Camp Award Watch List

The Walter Camp Award is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding player by the Walter Camp Football Foundation

Arizona v UCLA Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

This morning, the last of the National College Football Awards Association preseason watch lists was announced and Josh Rosen was named to the Walter Camp Award watch list.

The Walter Camp Award is presented each year by the Walter Camp Football Foundation to the most outstanding player in college football. The award and the foundation are named for Walter Camp, who was a Yale University athlete and football coach. Camp is considered to be the “Father of American Football.” He selected the first All-America team in 1889 and is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.

All told, 40 players from 30 different teams and 10 different conferences were selected for the watch list including last year’s winner Lamar Jackson of Louisville. The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The winner will be announced on Thursday, December 7. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 51st annual national awards banquet on January 13, 2018 in New Haven, CT.

Congratulations, Josh!

Go Bruins!!!