clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bruin Baseball Bites: UCLA's Berg, Savage Honored By Pac-12

The Pac-12 Conference announced All-Conference Honors today. Not surprisingly, UCLA Baseball fared very well.


The Pac-12 Conference has announced its All-Conference Honors for baseball and your Pac-12 Champions have certainly earned their share.

UCLA closer David Berg has been named the Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year and Bruin Head Coach John Savage has been selected as the Pac-12 Coach of the Year.

Berg led the Pac-12 in ERA at 0.73 and ranked third in the Pac-12 with 12 saves. He is a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award, given to the top player in the country.

Savage led the Bruins to a 42-14 record and their third Pac-12 title in five seasons. The team also received its first No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament earlier this week.

Six Bruins earned First Team All-Conference Honors. Berg earned the honor for the fourth time. James Kaprielian earned it for the second time. Grant Dyer, Ty Moore, Kevin Kramer, Grant Watson were also selected for the honor.

Griffin Canning, Luke Persico and Darrell Miller, Jr. received All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Congratulations to each of these outstanding Bruins!

Go Bruins!!!