clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Coach Jim Mora Named to 2015 Dodd Trophy Preseason Watch List

Jim Mora joins a growing list of Bruins receiving preseason honors.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Add another name to the list of Bruins receiving preseason honors. The watch list for the 2015 Dodd Trophy has been announced today, and Coach Jim Mora is one of 23 college coaches included on the preseason list. The list includes six past winners, including two time winner Bill Snyder of Kansas State (1998, 2012) and last year's winner Nick Saban of Alabama.

The Pac-12 placed four coaches on the preseason watch list; along with Jim Mora, Utah's Kyle Whittingham, Arizona's Rich Rodriguez, and Oregon's Mark Helfrich also represent the conference. It's worth noting that in the 39 year history of the award, a coach from the teams that now comprise the Pac-12 has won just once--Mike Price of Washington State won the Dodd Trophy in 1997.

According to the official site,

The head coaches on the watch list represent programs with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarship and integrity on and off the field - the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd's philosophy. Each of the coaches sits at the helm of programs with winning records, superior Academic Progress Rate (APR) scores and graduation rates, and a strong commitment to service within their communities.

The Dodd Trophy winner will be awarded a plaque with the following words inscribed:

"In recognition of a high and more noble aspect of college coaching...a style that emphasizes something more than winning the game...a belief that the game of football should be kept in perspective with college life in general."

The winner of the award will be announced on December 31 during halftime of the Peach Bowl.