clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vanderdoes and Moreau Named to Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List

The Bronco Nagurski Trophy is presented to the nation’s top defensive player each year.

NCAA Football: UCLA at Arizona State Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Two UCLA defensive players have been named to the Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List. Eddie Vanderdoes and Fabian Moreau were each named to the award’s watch list this morning.

The Bronco Nagurski Trophy honors the nation’s top defensive player each year.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. Once again, the Football Writers Association of America will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week from early September through mid November. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Thursday, November 17.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2016 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Monday, December 5 at the Charlotte Convention Center.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Go Bruins!!!