clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UCLA Football Announces Games Versus Auburn, Hawai’i and New Mexico State

The Bruins will play a home-and-home series against Auburn while also playing 3 games against the Rainbow Warriors and one against the New Mexico State Aggies.

NCAA Football: Oregon State at UCLA Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

This season, UCLA will again play the toughest schedule in college football. It’s the reason that many are predicting that UCLA will struggle this season.

Recently, Chip Kelly mentioned that the UCLA Bruins will play anyone in the FBS Subdivision. UCLA remains one of just three teams that have never played an FCS school. The other two schools are Southern Cal and Notre Dame.

The Bruins will face the Auburn Tigers for the first time ever when the Tigers visit the Rose Bowl on September 4, 2027 and will then travel to Auburn on September 2, 2028.

Meanwhile, the Bruins have also scheduled three more games against the Hawai’i Rainbow Warriors. The first game will be played in Honolulu in 2020 while UCLA will host the Rainbow Warriors in 2021 and 2027.

The addition of an away game in Hawai’i affords UCLA an opportunity to take advantage of the NCAA “Hawai’i Rule” which allows teams to schedule an extra game or an extra bye week if they play a road game in the State of Hawai’i. At this point, the Bruins would appear to have a second bye week, but it remains possible that UCLA could still schedule another team in 2020.

While Chip Kelly has taken an aggressive “we’ll play anyone” position on scheduling, it remains to be seen if that will result in a 13th game for the 2020 season.

The games against Hawai’i appear to be the replacements for the Rutgers home-and-home series that was cancelled when the Scarlet Knights chickened out of a long-existing contract.

UCLA has also added the New Mexico State Aggies to the schedule in 2020 when the teams will meet at the Rose Bowl.

Future UCLA Schedules

Aug. 31 - at Cincinnati
Sept. 7 - San Diego State
Sept. 14 - Oklahoma

Aug. 29 - New Mexico State
Sept. 5 - at Hawai’i
Sept. 19 - at San Diego State

Aug. 28 - Hawai’i
Sept. 4 - LSU
Sept. 18 - Fresno State

Sept. 3 - Bowling Green
Sept. 10 - at Michigan
Sept. 17 - South Alabama

Sept. 2 - Michigan
Sept. 9 - at San Diego State
Sept. 16 - Coastal Carolina

Aug. 31 - at LSU
Sept. 7 - UNLV
Sept. 14 - Fresno State

Aug. 30 - Georgia
Sept. 6 - at UNLV
Sept. 13 - New Mexico

Sept. 5 - at Georgia
Sept. 12 - San Diego State
Sept. 19 - TBD

Sept. 4 - Auburn
Sept. 18 - Hawai’i

Sept. 4 - Auburn

Sept. 15 - Wisconsin

Sept. 7 - at Wisconsin

Go Bruins!!!