clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Catherine Harrison Targets a Second Straight Pac-12 Championship Singles Title

For the second straight year, Catherine Harrison will play for the Pac-12 Championship Singles Title. Last year she won the trophy. Can she repeat that feat today?


UCLA's Catherine Harrison is back in the Pac-12 Singles Championship Final! Last year Harrison became the third consecutive Bruin to claim the singles title, following Jennifer Brady in 2014 and Kyle McPhillips in 2013.

Harrison advanced to this morning's final by defeating Arizona's Lauren Marker in straight sets 6-1, 6-4.

Harrison's opponent is the bracket's top-seed, Cal's Maegan Manasse. Manasse, the ITA's 11th-ranked singles player, defeated Southern Cal's Giuliana Olmos 6-4, 6-0 to claim a spot in the tournament final.

Despite being the defending champion, Harrison has to be considered the underdog today. When UCLA and Cal squared off back in February, Harrison won the first set but was unable to slow down Manasse the rest of the way, and ultimately lost 6-4, 2-6, 2-6. As Harrison admits, she wasn't at her best that day. To win a second consecutive Pac-12 Championship Singles title, Harrison will have to be close to her best today.

Two other Bruins are playing for a Pac-12 Tournament title today. The doubles pair of Terri Fleming and Alaina Miller advanced to the final of the Pac-12 Doubles Invitational with a 6-3 win over Stanford's duo of Hardebeck and Lamp.

Fleming & Miller's opponents today are Samantha Hampton and Kassidy Jump of Arizona State. Hampton/Jump, the bracket's second seed, advanced to the final with a 6-3 win over Washington State's Michalkova/Miksovska.

The Pac-12 Network will be televising the action from Libbey Park in Ojai. First serve for the Pac-12 Championship Singles final is scheduled for 10:00 AM PDT. The Pac-12 Doubles Invitational final is set to begin at 11:00 AM PDT. The Pac-12 also provides live scoring, and of course, you can also get updates by following UCLA Women's Tennis on Twitter.