clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UCLA Women’s Golf Advances to NCAA Championships

Patty Tavatanakit led the Bruins by finishing first overall.

The UCLA women’s golf team is moving on to the NCAA Championships after Patty Tavatanakit, Clare Legaspi, Beth Wu, Phoebe Yue and Mariel Galdiano finished third as a team at the NCAA East Lansing Regional.

It wasn’t a great day for the UCLA women’s golf team yesterday at the NCAA East Lansing Regional, but it was good enough to keep the Bruins in third place as the event concluded. By finishing in the top six, UCLA will now advance to the NCAA Championships starting May 17.

As a team, the Bruins shot a 5-over 293 yesterday which meant that they finished the event shooting a 10-over 874 over the three rounds.

UCLA got another strong day out of Patty Tavatanakit, who shot a 1-under 71 yesterday. She wrapped up the competition shooting an 8-under 208, which was four strokes ahead of Kent State’s Pimnipa Panthong, who finished second overall.

Bethany Wu concluded the competition with a 1-over 73 yesterday and a 2-over 218 overall. That was good enough to tie for 11th place overall. Clare Legaspi had a bit of a tough day. After finishing on Tuesday with a 2-under 70, she shot a 5-over 77 yesterday. She concluded the contest with a 6-over 222, which allowed her to tie for 27th place. Mariel Galdiano was able to duplicate her second round score when she shot a 2-over 74 yesterday, which moved her up to 53rd place overall with a 12-over 228. Phoebe Yu played her best golf yesterday when she shot a 3-over 75. Yue finished up with a 21-over 237, which moved her up slightly to a tie for 82nd.

The next stop for the Bruins is the NCAA Championships, which run from May 17 until May 22. The format for the NCAA Championships starts with four rounds of stroke play. After 54 holes of stroke play, the field is cut from 30 teams to just 15. Then after 72 holes of stroke play, the top eight teams move to two days’ worth of match play where teams compete head-to-head to determine the champion.

Go Bruins!!!